Suzanne Bélair

Painting Austin, Québec, Canada

is a signature member of the Institut des Arts figuratifs (IAF), the group Artists for Conservation (AFC), the Lakeshore Association of Artists (LAA) and an active member of the Canadian Federation of Artists.
Recipient of the "First choice of the public" award at the Ste-Marguerite du Lac Masson historical paintings exhibition (2014), she was also a finalist in the 2012 Rêves d'Automne national painting contest. A writer, she has been maintaining two blogs for over 10 years, one in French, the other in English on art, creativity, life and the environment.
As a visual artist and biologist, Suzanne likes to portray the unusual aspects of her subjects, whether traditional or unusual, and loves to marry her two passions. The poetry and tranquility of nature are often revealed by the close-up that she likes to paint. She wants the viewer to feel the nourishment and renewal that comes when we slow down and focus on details that are often ignored.
Her series are developed from a questioning, a new challenge. This process fuels the artistic progression and led to a more and more obvious flexibility of execution in her art. In recent years, the exploration of the theme of "nature interpreted" is more and more intuitive and spontaneous, abstract and textural while remaining semi-figurative. Her favourite subject being nature, this oil painter also uses acrylic and modeling paste, especially in her contemporary forests.

Suzanne Bélair

Peinture Austin, Québec, Canada

est membre signataire de l’Institut des Arts figuratifs (IAF), du groupe Artists for Conservation (AFC), l’Association des artistes du Lakeshore et membre actif de la Fédération des Artistes Canadiens.

Récipiendaire du prix « Premier choix du public » lors de l’exposition de peintures historiques de Ste-Marguerite du Lac Masson (2014), elle fut également finaliste dans le concours national de peinture Rêves d’Automne 2012. Écrivaine, elle maintient depuis plus de dix ans, deux blogues, un en français, l’autre en anglais sur l’art, la créativité, la vie et l’environnement.

En tant qu'artiste visuelle et biologiste, Suzanne aime représenter les aspects inhabituels de ses sujets, qu'ils soient traditionnels ou insolites et adore marier ses deux passions. La poésie et la tranquillité de la nature sont souvent révélées par le gros plan, qu'elle aime peindre. Elle veut que l'observateur ressente la nourriture et le renouveau qui viennent lorsque l'on ralentit et portons notre attention sur des détails souvent ignorés.

Ses séries sont élaborées à partir d’un questionnement, d’un nouveau défi. Ce processus alimente la progression artistique et l’a menée à une souplesse d’exécution de plus en plus évidente dans son art. Depuis quelques années, l’exploration du thème de « La nature interprétée » se veut de plus en plus intuitive et spontanée, abstraite et texturale tout en demeurant semi figurative. Son sujet de prédilection étant la nature cette peintre à l’huile utilise aussi l’acrylique et les empâtements, surtout pour ses forêts contemporaines.